Little (and big) somethings!

I have little somethings to share!

I’ll start with what’s most recent and work backward…

We hosted our first family Thanksgiving here, this past weekend.  Jez’s fam came over and we had a great time preparing to eat, eating dinner, and eating dessert.  Sis-in-law Jenn forgave me that dinner wasn’t ready right at 5 p.m.!

DSCN0042 DSCN0040 DSCN0060

Uncle Brad helped the kiddos make ice cream after dinner… oh the display of tiny, adorable muscles!

DSCN0049 DSCN0055

I got a little Pinterest-y again and used the idea of a craft paper table cover. I also grabbed some seasonal stickers for the kiddos to mess with as dinner was in the final stages of cooking. They had a good time and it kept them (sorta kinda) occupied while the adults were at their busiest. During and after dinner we each wrote what we were thankful for (on the paper) and it was funny, dorky, inappropriate, and sweet at the same time!

DSCN0073 DSCN0070 DSCN0069 DSCN0065

We decided to have the house decorated for Christmas before our first round of Thanksgiving. Yes, we are those people. No, I am not ashamed.

DSCN0037 DSCN9993 DSCN0719 DSCN0003

Last week, Vivi, Finn, and I met my mom and adopted Grandma, Margie for lunch in town. We went to a relatively new place (although we should have eaten there before now) called Sweetea’s that was yummy and absolutely adorable. It’s (obviously) a tea shop, also, and they play up the tea party aspect for little girls – which Vivi really appreciated. There’s a corner with some plastic jewelry and cute little tin tea sets for the kids to play with so she served us her tea while we drank ours. Even Finn had a great time! He loves taking his girls out on the town.

DSCN0027 DSCN0024 DSCN0018 DSCN0015 DSCN0013 DSCN0006

I’ve also been crafting a bit, lately.

I’m exploring the wonderful world of felted wool dryer balls. I made them using a tutorial I found at allfourloveblog.com that’s super easy to follow (okay, it would be difficult to make this process confusing). The dryer balls take the place of dryer sheets, which are too full of chemicals for us! The are also supposed to cut drying time significantly. I just finally finished the felting process yesterday and have only used them in a couple of loads of laundry but so far so good!

I also broke down and bought a tag-shaped paper punch so that I can make my own tags for the holidays. I’ve always had a pretty strong aversion to Christmas tags – because I hated to actually pay for something so silly and insignificant. Anyway, I got a couple of Christmas stamps to use to decorate the tags and I’ll let you know how that goes.

Finally, we jumped on the felt Christmas tree bandwagon (see picture above). We have two, one upstairs and one downstairs and have already cut out a fair amount of ornaments with plans for some more. Vivi loves them, although she’s pretty type-A about which ornaments go where – specifically, like colors have to be together. Crazy kid.

DSCN0717

Final news: I got a job.

Okay, that’s pretty big news.

I GOT A JOB!

It’s not in a library, although that is most certainly still my ultimate goal.

It’s a position with a provider of behavioral healthcare for children and young adults and I’ll be working with the patients and their families and I think it’s a wonderful stepping-stone as a job that encompasses both service and young people.

I am super excited but am also super anxious about leaving the kids for some days each week. I know they will be in wonderful hands but it’s always been Jez and I taking care of them until now! Big changes. It’s good that I won’t start for some weeks yet, so there’s time to get used to the idea!

Whew, this ended up being a long entry! I need to go wipe Finn’s nose and see what kind of mess Vivi’s making in her room while she’s supposed to be sleeping…

Leave a Reply

