Whatta weekend!

Wowsa. We were busy but every second was filled with awesome family time that we really needed!

First, I unleashed my inner Pinterest and Jez and I successfully prepped 5 one-gallon-bags-worth of freezer meals.  At about two dinner + a lunch or two per bag, I’m extremely excited to have them!  I also created a “snack box” to keep in the fridge for Vivo that has some prepped veggies and cheese in it.  We’re to a place where she knows that she can go to the refrigerator and grab sometime when she’s hungry (and sometimes get away with eating it if we’re not in the immediate vicinity) so I think this will help to let her have some independence while also policing her choices. [Totally just right now sent her to grab a snack out when she was complaining of hunger and I'm already convinced this arrangement is AMAZING.]

DSCN0097 DSCN0099

With Finn being such a high-maintenance sleeper/eater and Vivi being busy every second of every day, we’ve pretty much dropped the ball when it comes to making well-rounded dinners around here.  Jez and I are absolutely beat by 5 p.m. every day – and now it won’t matter because I can throw something delicious in the crockpot around mid-day and count on it by mid-evening!

Tonight we’re trying out our teriyaki chicken. Mmmmmm.

teriyaki chicken

(Source)

We also took a wonderful hike in the beautiful weather!  Things were great until Vivi decided to try climbing up (and down) a pretty steep embankment and fell face first, slamming her face on a branch.

DSCN0070 DSCN0071 DSCN0090

DSCN0092 DSCN0093

Has anyone noticed that I’ve been wearing Finn in the carrier like it’s a full-time job, lately?  He LOVES his Ergo (this is the kind we have but obviously not the same color) and I’ve been having amazing luck getting him to nap there… even during this brutal sleep-regression we’ve got going on.

DSCN0048

So then on Sunday night it suddenly occurred to Jez and me that he might have Monday off because it’s a bank holiday – and we were right!  Seriously, paid holidays are flipping amazing.  So we spent another day together.  We had a great time at a local farm market/pumpkin patch.  We got to feed alpacas and sheep, beast a corn maze, and (very painstakingly) select pumpkins.  Now, of course, baked pumpkin seeds are in our near future!

DSCN0100 DSCN0110 DSCN0112 DSCN0119 DSCN0120 DSCN0146 DSCN0147 DSCN0151 DSCN0176 DSCN0178

In the last picture, Jez and Vieve are “sad” because they came in second place in the Clephane Amazing Race out of the corn maze.  Finn and I feel pretty good about winning.

Oh!  We also tried out smoothies and banana as respective firsts for Vivo and Finn.  Both were big hits.

DSCN0039 DSCN0042

DSCN0196 DSCN0191DSCN0205

It’s crazy how much I love all of them.

Alright, I have everyone set up to actually take naps today.  I plan to use the time to prep a cauliflower for tonight’s dinner (mashed cauliflower, YUM), clean the floors (not yum), and maybe watch Season 1 Episode 1 of Breaking Bad – I guess I need to see what all the hype is about.

Later, party people.

One thought on “Whatta weekend!

Leave a Reply

